Behavior Spotlight: Monday Blues

Another Holy Week has passed. And a brand new week starts. For people with appointments, you know what that means.

Monday

Never failed to meet expectations. Now, the “I hate Mondays” syndrome is nothing new of our culture. In every country, you can spot people who are fearful of weekdays/workdays. Back in college, this is something common I would see in my social media feed, of numerous hullabaloos that can fill a bulletin board with Post-its.

For citizens who aspire to achieve something in their own field, this is inescapable. But we let this mindset seep into our collective consciousness for multiple reasons. It can be that we see no sign of physical progress in our work. Or it can come from bringing in the stresses of last week to the upcoming week. Or it can result from being too fixated on what happened in the weekend. Or it can just be plainly natural that we are fearful of workload. And this is just the tip of the iceberg, for there are many other reasons why we receive Monday blues.

Now, I admit I experienced Monday blues back in college, notably when in crucial periods like midterms and final exams. And that is for the reason that I am aware of what I will expect for the week. As a result, I set my expectations lower to the unenthusiastic wayside and let Monday blues sink on me. But I got to be frank, I did that just to gain attention and initiate a trivial conversation with my colleagues, which became poisonous. It is if I am bowing to an unproductive conformity. And that is a striking but unnoticeable repercussion to letting Monday blues set up stone for how the rest of the week will be.

Monday2

The “I hate Mondays” syndrome can be traced to the typical Juan Tamad mindset. Okay, so we are familiar of the Juan Tamad folklore, especially the part when the titular character waits simply for a guava to fall off from a tree he was lying under? Now I want to highlight that premise. It is typical for Filipinos to have a laid back attitude, to just calm away from troubles and settle for less. Because less is defined as safe and sound. The case of waiting for a guava to fall for us is a case of settling for less, disregarding its unhealthy effects, which could lead to typical Filipino unproductivity.

Okay, to make it clear, not everyone is subjected to this mindset. There are some Filipinos who do constant work without effect. But for the popular, this is apparent. Even ads tend to address this issue and cash in on it.

But I know what you are expecting. How can we counter Monday blues?

Don’t settle to the norm. Simple as that.

Author:

I am a Peterson, a Bosconian, a Lasallian, an ENC Member, a movie buff, a writer, a thespian, an optimist and a servant of God. And I will tell you a story.

Leave a Reply

